Change the way it saves files.
make Character animator name and save files just exacly like all your other products.
The system of "projects" that can not be closed is arbitrary, and confusing.
I have to switch between 4 different adobe products in my current workflow.they should all work on a consistent fashion. I have lost files that I thought I had saved, but turns out, I've just unknowingly overwritten.