When using projectPath render token, existing files are overwritten without warning
When using the "projectPath" property (render token) to manually set the filepath in the File Name and Location Template, if a file with the same name already exists, it will be overwritten without any warning when the user clicks Render. This should be fixed to prompt the user with a warning before rendering begins.
Soren Laulainen commented
Hi John, I'm able to reproduce this in AE v18.0.1
OS: Windows 10 Home
GPU: Radeon RX 5700 XT
This doesn't seem to happen if a user selects the output template and immediately hits Render -- an overwrite warning occurs then. However, if the user selects the output template, then clicks the filename to open the OS file browser popup, clicks Save (the location doesn't matter), the [projectPath] property gets removed from the filename. If the user then clicks Render, it overwrites the existing file without warning.
Thank you for filing this report. We are able to reproduce the overwriting without warning on Windows only, but not on macOS. What AE version are you using and what are your system specs/OS version?
Thanks very much for any additional information,
- John, After Effects Engineering Team