[BUG] Auto-Save stops working if AE fails to delete the previous auto-save
There's a bug with After Effects where, if for any reason, After Effects fails to delete an older auto-saved file, the auto-save feature just stops working, and no new auto-saves are created.
In my case, AE failed to delete the older auto-save cause it was locked by Perforce.
This should NEVER be the case. After Effects should warn the user it could not delete the auto-save (which it already does. That's good), but it should never stop doing further auto-saves after that.
Auto-save should always work, regardless of what's going on.
Thank you for reporting this issue. Auto-save should absolutely work regardless of what's going on, even if the previous auto-save is locked or otherwise can't be deleted. In our testing, After Effects should present a warning that the file cannot be deleted and then proceed to auto-save a new copy even though it exceeds the Maximum Project Versions set in Preferences > Auto-Save.
In your case where version control is locking auto-saved projects, does AE show the error I've described? What is your Maximum Project Versions set to and what is the time duration between auto-saves?
Thanks very much for any additional information,
- John, After Effects Engineering Team