How can we improve After Effects?

Support the HAP codec

The HAP codec, which is massive in the live video industry, is no longer supported.

Please bring it back? It would be very nice.

297 votes
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

Chet shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

144 comments

Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • Phill Power commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

And while you're at it, could you please reinstate DXV-3 support? Another format used by live events professionals.

• Cris Sharp commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Please bring HAP back, as an events professional I use HAP all of the time for media server content and the loss of direct After Effects rendering has caused a huge problem both in time and confusion for my clients and suppliers.

• Dave LaRonde commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

I have about 20 - 24 hours of quicktimes, all in older codecs. All of a historical nature. None can be re-shot. I fail to understand why Adobe dropped support for older QT codecs without first having good replacements for them. Those of us working with older footage can not and WILL NOT update. Our livelihoods were built on Quicktime, and they still depend on it.

• sfeick commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Bring HAP back to After Effects CC 2018, can't work on older projects anymore

• Miguel R. commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

I have been talking to Adobe support and I have been met with untold ignorance and the usual "we are sorry for the inconvenience".Dear Adobe, impacting people's workflow in this wreckless manner is not exactly an "inconvenience"
        Please restore support for the HAP and DVX codecs.