Media Overwrite Warning in Timeline (so you don't erase clips outside visible area by mistake!)
SEE the Solution in action HERE! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S5yjiwsWrZE&feature=youtu.be
This is an issue probably all editors face daily: You move media into or already on the Timeline. Part of the media extends past the visible portion of the sequence. Will placing the media at the current playhead location erase any media on the non-visible portion of the sequence? How can an editor tell to avoid erasing something by mistake?
The current solutions are an aggravating waste of time:
a) To find out if any media was overwritten, the editor can zoom out on the Timeline to reveal the entirety of the media that was dropped, press Ctrl-Z to undo the drop, and visually check to see if there was any existing media underneath before the drop. Confirming nothing was erased, the editor can process to redo (Ctrl-Shift-Z) the drop.
b) The editor can remember to zoom out before placing the media, but in doing so, lose the placement precision one gets when placing media in a zoomed in Timeline.
c) Do neither a or b, saving time, but at the great risk of erasing media on the non-visible portion of their sequence (which can result in much more time spend later fixing mistakes!) So not a viable option.
Thankfully there's a much better solution:
Media Overwrite Warning
Any time a clip is moved to or on the Timeline, with part of it extending past the left or right edge of the visible portion of the sequence, a red indicator would appear on the edge of the clip(s) to warn users media will be overwritten at that spot if the media is dropped. The visual warning would essentially tell editors "Hey, if you drop the media on this/these particular video and/or audio track(s), you WILL be overwriting media that on the unseen portion of your sequence! Are you sure you want to do that?"
A visual warning such as this would make it SO MUCH FASTER for editors to place/move media on their Timeline with 100% confidence nothing is ever overwritten by mistake!
Note: If using a keyboard shortcut to insert or overwrite a clip on the Timeline, a visual warning cue should also apply. Since the playhead moves to the end of the inserted/overwritten clip, rather than a small red warning cue, the whole clip could turn red:
a) for a second or two
b) or until the editor performs another task
Since this is a tool that stands to benefit all editors at some time or another (for many even on an hourly basis while editing) PLEASE give this feature prompt consideration!
No other NLE I know of offers a tool like this, so this is also an opportunity for Adobe to introduce an industry first!
As always, thanks for listening!
Pierre Louis Beranek commented
Since there will always be some people who prefer to turn a certain tool off, there should be an option in the Timeline's wrench menu to turn off 'Show Media Overwrite Warning'.
Pierre Louis Beranek commented
Correction: No visual warning cue would be necessary when inserting a clip with a shortcut since that action automatically moves media down the Timeline, out of the way, so no risk of overwriting clips by mistake in that case. ;)